Grayscale map of the Balkans showing mountainous areas with shaded relief, rivers with gray lines, and modern country boundaries with white lines. The following countries are labeled: Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Moldova, Romania, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Italy, Albania, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Greece, and Turkey. The following physical features are labeled: Carpathian Mountains, Alps, Great Hungarian Plain, Dinaric Alps, Balkan Mountains, Apennine Mountains, Adriatic Sea, Mediterranean Sea, Aegean Sea, Black Sea. The following rivers are labeled: Danube, Morava.

(click the map to enlarge)